Refine

Clear Filters
Apply

Texas Family Child Care Licensing: Eligibility

This post is a part of our series on Texas family child care licensing. For more on licensing in Texas, see the following posts:

Texas Family Child Care Licensing: An Overview
Types of Licenses
The Licensing Process
Training Requirements
Home Requirements

The requirements to become a provider of a family child care in Texas depend on what type of program you plan to run: a listed, registered, or licensed one. The differences in eligibility requirements are summarized in the figure below:

Source: DFPS Qualifications and Requirements for Child Care Home Types

Primary caregiver qualifications for a Registered Child Care Home

  • Be at least 21 years old;
  • Have a high school diploma or high school equivalent;
  • Have a certificate of completion of the Licensing pre-application course within one year prior to your application date;
  • Meeting the requirements relating to Background Checks;
  • Have a current certification in CPR and first aid with rescue breathing and choking;
  • Have a current record of tuberculosis (TB) examination showing you are free of contagious TB, if required by the Texas Department of State Health Services or local health authority; and
  • Have proof of training in the following:
    • Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;
    • Understanding and using safe sleep practices and preventing sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS);
    • Understanding early childhood brain development;
    • Emergency preparedness;
    • Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases, including immunizations;
    • Administering medication, if applicable
    • Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction;
    • Understanding building and physical premises safety, including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic;
    • Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
    • Precautions in transporting children if your child-care home plans to transport a child whose chronological or developmental age is younger than nine years old.

For more details on education and experience eligibility to become the primary caregiver in a family child care in Texas, click here.

Primary caregiver qualifications for a Licensed Child Care Home

The primary caregiver of a licensed child care home must meet the following qualifications:

  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Have a high school diploma or high school equivalent;
  • Have a certificate of completion of the licensing Pre-Application Course within one year prior to your application date;
  • Meet the requirements relating to Background Checks
  • Have a current certification in CPR and first aid with rescue breathing and choking
  • Have a current record of tuberculosis (TB) examination showing you are free of contagious TB, if required by the Texas Department of State Health Services or local health authority;
  • Have a proof of training in the following:
    • Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;
    • Understanding and using safe sleep practices and preventing sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS);
    • Understanding early childhood brain development;
    • Emergency preparedness;
    • Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases, including immunizations;
    • Administering medication, if applicable
    • Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction;
    • Understanding building and physical premises safety, including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic;
    • Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials
    • Precautions in transporting children if your child-care home plans to transport a child whose chronological or developmental age is younger than nine years old.
    • Have one of the following combinations of education and experience:
    • A
      • A bachelor’s degree with 12 college credit hours in child development and three college credit hours in management
      • and at least one year of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home;
    • B
      • An associate’s of applied science degree in child development or a closely related field with six college credit hours in child development and three college credit hours in management. A “closely related field” is any educational instruction pertaining to the growth, development, physical or mental care, or education of children ages birth through 13 years,
      • and at least one year of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home;
    • C
      • Sixty college credit hours with six college credit hours in child development and three college credit hours in management,
      • and at least one year of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home;
    • D
      • A Child Development Associate credential or Certified Child-Care Professional credential with three college credit hours in management,
      • and at least one year of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home;
    • E
      • A child-care administrator’s certificate from a community college with at least 15 college credit hours in child development and three college credit hours in management,
      • and at least two years of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home;
    • F
      • A day-care administrator’s credential issued by a professional organization or an educational institution and approved by Licensing based on criteria specified relating to Day-Care Administrator’s Credential Program
      • and at least two years of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home; or
    • G
      • Seventy-two clock hours of training in child development and 30 clock hours in management,
      • and at least three years of experience in a licensed child-care center or licensed or registered child-care home

For more details on education and experience eligibility to become the primary caregiver in a family child care in Texas, click here.

Eligibility criteria for assistant and substitute caregivers

An assistant must

  • Be 18 years old;
  • Have a high school diploma or high school equivalent;
  • Complete orientation to your home;
  • Meet the Background Checks requirements
  • Have a current record of a tuberculosis (TB) examination showing the caregiver is free of contagious TB, if required by the Texas Department of State Health Services or local health authority;
  • Complete a notarized Licensing Affidavit for Applicants for Employment form; and
  • Be trained in CPR and first aid with rescue breathing and choking.

A substitute must

  • Be 18 years old;
  • Have a high school diploma or high school equivalent;
  • Complete orientation to your home;
  • Meet the Background Checks requirements
  • Have a current record of a tuberculosis (TB) examination showing the caregiver is free of contagious TB, if required by the Texas Department of State Health Services or local health authority;
  • Complete a notarized Licensing Affidavit for Applicants for Employment form

This post is a part of our series on Texas family child care licensing. For more on licensing in Texas, see the following posts:

Texas Family Child Care Licensing: An Overview
Types of Licenses
The Licensing Process
Training Requirements
Home Requirements

Wonderschool

Wonderschool is a network of quality in-home early childhood programs. Our mission is to ensure that every child has access to a home away from home that helps them realize their full potential. We work with experienced educators and child care providers to help them start their own child care or preschool out of their homes, whether they live in apartments, condos, or homes that they rent or own.